Lions Bestow Melvin Jones Fellowship on Two Lion Members

Lion David Blair, left, receiving his Melvin Jones Fellowship from President Michael Harris.

Lion Gary Warriner, left, receiving his Melvin Jones Fellowship from President Michael Harris.

Westport Lions Roar

By Lion Bob Reddick

Lions Gary Warriner and David Blair were recently honoured by receiving the prestigious Melvin Jones Fellowship.  This worldwide award, named after Melvin Jones, the founder of Lions, is the highest form of recognition and embodies the humanitarian ideas and purpose of Lionism. 

The Melvin Jones Fellowship Award was created in 1973 to recognize individuals who display qualities such as generosity, compassion, and concern for the less fortunate.  It is unlike other Lions awards that acknowledge specific accomplishments.  The fellowship is open to non-Lions and can be awarded posthumously. 

There have been six individuals in the history of the Westport Lions Club who have received the Melvin Jones Fellowship: Lions Wayne Bent, Jim McGlade, Marty Hawkins, Gary Warriner, David Blair, and volunteer Lucille Bresee. It has been told that when Lucille was racing out of her burning house, she grabbed her treasured MJF plaque off the wall.

Both new recipients have had a long history with the club.  Lion Gary has been a Westport Lion for 38 years and Lion Dave for 33 years.  During that time, both men have been generous with their time in helping others and providing service to our community.  Congratulations Gary, and Dave, for this well-deserved honour.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s